The key facts about distribution in 2023/2024

Iodine tablets (potassium iodide 65 SERB tablets) will be distributed as a precautionary measure to people living in regions within 50 km of the active Swiss nuclear power plants (Beznau 1, Beznau 2, Gösgen, Leibstadt). The iodine tablets will be sent by post to all households in these regions between mid-October and mid-November 2023. They will be distributed to workplaces (trades, industry, companies, etc.) and public facilities (schools, children’s daycare centres, hospitals, authorities, etc.) in the first quarter of 2024. All recipients will be provided with detailed information about the iodine tablets at the same time.

Precautionary distribution directly to the population

The iodine tablets will be distributed to people living within 50 km of an active Swiss nuclear power plant. The number of tablets distributed will deliberately be more than the number needed for one person so that, in an emergency, there will also be enough for relatives or visitors who have not received iodine tablets or do not have them with them. In regions outside of this 50 km radius, the cantons store enough iodine tablets to supply the population in good time should the need arise.

Iodine tablets for new arrivals

People who move to a municipality within a 50 km radius of an active Swiss nuclear power plant after the tablets have been distributed in 2023 will also be given iodine tablets. When they register in the new municipality they will automatically be given vouchers for the tablets by the municipal authority. The vouchers entitle them to obtain their iodine tablets free of charge from a pharmacy or drugstore within the distribution area.

Old tablets can be returned easily at no cost

The iodine tablets have been distributed in a purple pack between 2014 and 2023; they were previously distributed in a red pack. Small quantities of these old iodine tablets (up to 10 packs) can simply be returned to a pharmacy or drugstore. For the return of larger volumes by pharmacies, drugstores, companies and public facilities please take note of the information under logistics. 
 
Should you need to return more than 14'000 packs of old iodine tablets, please send an email to betriebe@jodtabletten.ch by 31 December 2023. The Swiss Iodine Tablets Office arranges the collection from you by a logistic partner. 

The distribution area

Iodine tablets are distributed every ten years to people living within 50 km of a Swiss nuclear power plant. It is no longer necessary to distribute iodine tablets directly to people living in municipalities close to the former Mühleberg nuclear power plant. In regions outside of this 50 km radius, the cantons store enough iodine tablets to supply the population should the need arise. A full list of all affected municipalities (listed by canton) can be found in the Ordinance on the Provision of Iodine Tablets to the Public.

Interactive map
The distribution area
Omission
Nuclear power plant in operation
Nuclear power plant out of operation

L’essentiel à propos de la distribution 2023/2024

La distribution à titre préventif de comprimés d’iode (iodure de potassium 65 SERB) à la population concerne les zones situées dans les 50 km autour d’une centrale nucléaire suisse active (Beznau 1, Beznau 2, Gösgen et Leibstadt). Les comprimés seront envoyés par la poste entre mi-octobre et mi-novembre 2023 à tous les ménages concernés. La distribution aux entreprises (artisans, industrie, entreprises, etc.) et aux institutions publiques (écoles, structures d’accueil pour enfants, hôpitaux, autorités, etc.) à été lieu au premier trimestre 2024. Tous les destinataires de ces envois ont reçu en même temps des informations détaillées sur les comprimés d’iode.

Distribution préventive directement à la population

Les comprimés d’iode ont été distribués à la population résidant dans un rayon de 50 km autour d’une centrale nucléaire suisse active. La Confédération à été distribué sciemment plus de comprimés qu’il n’est nécessaire pour une personne, de façon à permettre, en cas d’urgence, d’en transmettre aux proches ou aux visiteurs qui n’en ont pas reçu ou qui n’en ont pas sur eux. Dans les régions situées au-delà de ce rayon, les cantons stockent suffisamment de comprimés d’iode pour pouvoir approvisionner à temps la population en cas d’événement.

Comprimés d’iode pour les nouveaux arrivants

Des comprimés d’iode sont également remis aux personnes qui s’installent dans une commune située dans les 50 km autour d’une centrale nucléaire suisse active après la distribution 2023. Les autorités communales leur remettent automatiquement des bons lorsqu’elles s’inscrivent dans leur nouvelle commune. Elles peuvent ainsi retirer leurs comprimés gratuitement dans une pharmacie ou une droguerie située dans la zone de distribution.

Retour simple et gratuit des anciens comprimés

Entre 2014 et 2023 les comprimés ont été remisé dans des boîtes violettes, qui ont succédé à des boîtes rouges. Vous pouvez simplement retourner les anciens comprimés en petites quantités (jusqu’à dix boîtes) dans une pharmacie ou une droguerie. Pour les quantités plus importantes par pharmacies, droqueries, entreprises et institutions publiques les informations sous logistique sont à prendre en compte. 
 
Pour tout retour de plus de 14 000 boîtes, veuillez envoyer un e-mail à info@comprimesiode.ch.  Le service d'approvisionnement en iodure de potassium organise le retrait avec un partenaire logistique. 

La zone de distribution

Les comprimés d’iode sont distribués tous les dix ans à la population résidant dans un rayon de 50 km autour d’une centrale nucléaire suisse. Dans les communes situées autour de l’ancienne centrale nucléaire de Mühleberg, il n’est plus nécessaire de distribuer des comprimés directement à la population. Dans les régions situées au-delà de ce rayon, les cantons stockent suffisamment de comprimés d’iode pour permettre l’approvisionnement de la population en cas d’événement. Une liste exhaustive des communes concernées (classées par canton) figure dans l’ordonnance sur la distribution de comprimés d’iode à la population.

Carte interactive
Zone de distribution
Suppression
Centrale nucléaire en service
Centrale nucléaire hors service